06
Apr
10

Baseball is NOT a sport.


I know I’m going to piss off a lot of people with this post, but what can I say, get your own damn blog or feel free to comment if you feel strongly about it. I’m not the biggest sports fanatic around. I don’t have favorite teams and I don’t kick the cat if my home town team loses to its rival. To get that excited about a sport or entertainment that i have no personal investment in, is beyond me. Now, that’s not to say that I don’t enjoy sports. I loved playing football, hockey, soccer, and basketball as I grew up. I competed in cycling and triathlons at the semi-pro level and dedicated several years of my life trying to make it big. So it’s not like I’m a video gamer who sits on the sofa, I just don’t get ultra-passionate about sports.
Now for my pet peeve in the sports world and the focus of this post…baseball. The fact that these baseball players take themselves so seriously as atheletes is as annoying as a sunburn on my ass on the same day my personal spanking dominatrix, Vixonish, is scheduled to beat me…but I digress. There are indeed some excellent atheletes that play baseball, but that’s because of their own ambitions, and has NOTHING to do with having to BE an athelete to play baseball. The overweight and over paid players spend 90% of the gametime either standing, or sitting. NOT an athletically demanding event in the least.
I justify all of this because you could…and stay with me here…YOU COULD replace a starting baseball player with a 10 year old kid, and it’s possible that the kid COULD out perform the pro. I’ve checked, and there are plenty of games where a starting player did NOTHING…not one hit, not one catch, and you could say the player went into the negatives by making an error. Now…replace that player with a kid and it could be that the kid gets a lucky hit, or fields the ball that the pro errored on, correct? You know I’m right. Sure, I’ll admit there is skill involved, but that’s as far as I’ll go. And the kid could certainly last the entire game from an endurance perspective. That is, if he doesn’t pass out from boredome first.

Now let’s see if that same kid can be placed in other sports where ATHELETES play. Football…no way, the kid would get killed and couldn’t keep up the endurance. Basketball, nope..again with the endurance. Running, cycling, swimming…no, never.
Do you see where I am going? I can’t become a fan of a ‘sport’ where a starting player can be replaced and potentially bettered by a 10 year old. And for the love of god, don’t come back to me with “…but there is a mental strategy…a psychology to the game.” Really? What sport doesn’t have that? Get over it baseball players. You’re playing a kids game!
I leave you with a few parting “athelete” pics…

1 Response to “Baseball is NOT a sport.”


  1. April 11, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    Where the hell is the LIKE button on this 😉 I can sit through a live game, but to watch that boring shit on tv is beyond me.


Leave a Reply

Twitter Update

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

The Commune Movie

Categories


